Do you have a problem? Here is the place to appeal for help
James from Devon
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Regner Vincent problem

Post by James from Devon » Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:55 pm

Hi all.

This is my first ever post!

Firstly, a massive thanks to everyone who posts here. I am quite new to the hobby and nearly finished building my first line. I have found much useful advice and inspiration from this forum.

I have a new Regner Vincent in my collection. I have given it 2 hours of running in in each direction accompanied by much oil on all the moving parts. My problem is that it still seems a little erratic and loses speed as it runs while the pressure remains 2 1/2 bar... I have not experienced this with either my Chaloner or Konrad... do you think it needs more running in or is there anything else I can try?

Thanks in advance for any help

Jim
Garden railways don't run on steam or electric rather wine and Jedi master level patience

Big Jim

Post by Big Jim » Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:48 pm

While I am not familiar with regner locos. I would have thought that if the engine is running badly yet maintains pressure it would be a drive problem. Check that everything is that should be tight is tight and is getting enough oil. Check that the oil is being taken from the displacement lubricator.
While unlikely on a new engine check that the pressure gauge is not sticking at 2.5 bar, thus showing a higher pressure than is actually present.

Hopefully someone with more experience of regner locos will be along to give more advise soon.

Jim
If at first you don't succeed, use a bigger hammer!

tom_tom_go
Driver
Driver

Post by tom_tom_go » Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:56 pm

Hi James,

What oil are you using?

James from Devon
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Post by James from Devon » Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:02 pm

Hi Jim

I think it is in the drive train somewhere but cant seem to find it. It turns over by hand fine. The pressure gauge is also OK, moves from 0-3 as it should.

Hi Tom