Mss as a first

A very popular starting point for Live Steam. With their low cost comes a number of problems which can be discussed here
laurence703
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Mss as a first

Post by laurence703 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:43 pm

Hello!
I'm new to the miniature world of garden railways as such and I've always wanted a Mamod or a Mss loco. After the Parents made the mistake of saying "Yes Laurence, You can put a railway in the garden"
On a few conditions this was allowed and the conditions were that I pay for Brick flower beds and that it has to be proper steam... I love my Parents! I'm yet to build the railway, but I bought a Mss loco and tender with a good amount of Mamod track from Ebay. The loco had only been steamed once before I bought it and after a few sessions of trying to get it going it now runs a dream and is actually controllable, which was very surprising considering the horror stories that surround mamods and only being able to stay on the track for no more than 2 seconds... which I quite pleasantly discovered is a load of old wives tales so to speak.

Here's a video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AM_0jkplKTk

Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/img]
No one expects the SPANISH ACQUISITION!!!

invicta280
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Post by invicta280 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:18 pm

Well done Laurence. Your parents have wisely decided that a properly laid out garden railway is an asset and an improvement on your average flower bed.

Go ahead and repay their confidence. I like their proviso that it has to be 'proper steam'.

Sir Clothem Cap
Driver
Driver

Post by Sir Clothem Cap » Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:06 pm

I totally agree that mamods are controllable but of course if you bang the regulator right over and send it round a tight bend anything will fall over. I like your parents! I had to buy a house first before I got my garden railway!

dougrail
Driver
Driver

Post by dougrail » Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:15 pm