Time to build a railway...but where?

A place for the discussion of garden railways & any garden style/scale portable layouts
User avatar
GTB
Driver
Driver
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by GTB » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:53 am

Peter Butler wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:35 pm
The brake gear is all scratch-built from bits of plasticard, it is surprisingly strong now it is welded together with solvent so I hope it lasts in use.
That came up well. At the rate you work it won't take long to upgrade the rest of the fleet.

Unless you make a habit of having derailments, polystyrene brake gear should be OK. It should be far enough underneath the body to escape handling damage by all but the most ham-fisted helpers and it will be easy enough to repair if it has an accident.

Graeme

User avatar
philipy
Director
Director
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: South Northants
Contact:

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by philipy » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:18 pm

Peter Butler wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:18 pm

What do others do about this?
I wipe metal wheels with a cotton bud dipped in Birchwood Casey Gun Blue, which I've had for very many years. Don't bother with any thing else, just wipe and leave. Steel goes a sort of dirty black colour and brass goes a rusty brown colour.

User avatar
tom_tom_go
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 4266
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:08 am
Location: Kent, UK
Contact:

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by tom_tom_go » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:34 pm

Just like to add you can't chemically blacken Accucraft wheels as they are plated (nickel I believe).

User avatar
IrishPeter
Driver
Driver
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:24 am
Location: 'Boro, VA

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by IrishPeter » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:12 pm

Mild steel will rust here, as Virginia is rather humid for 6 months of the year, so I don't usually do anything with the wheels - just wait. Stainless, etc., gets a little help from the rusty brown paint pot. I find anything too shiny is a distraction, especially as mine are supposed to be working railways, not tourist lines, though domes will get a little elbow grease from time to time.


Cheers,

Peter in Va
Traffic Pattern? What pattern? Spuds out; grain in, but cattle, sheep and passengers are a lot less predictable.

User avatar
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by Peter Butler » Tue Jan 01, 2019 3:36 pm

ge_rik wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:25 am
Nice looking wagons, Peter. You have a knack of always choosing the right colour schemes for your builds.

Rik
Artist..... not engineer!
The best things in life are free.... so why am I doing this?

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by FWLR » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:29 am

Peter Butler wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 3:36 pm
ge_rik wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:25 am
Nice looking wagons, Peter. You have a knack of always choosing the right colour schemes for your builds.

Rik
Artist..... not engineer!
You can be an Artist on mine then Peter. :lol:
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

🚂🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by Peter Butler » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:43 pm

Since my last post I have been busy fitting brake gear to all of the four wheel wagons, all done now. Having done that another missing item stands out, and that is vacuum hose connection. Some of my stock has them fitted when I was fortunate enough to pick them up used or as a job-lot. (they aren't cheap and I need lots of them!). I have also made some in the past and am pleased with their appearance.... it's all about distance.
The way I made them is by using brazing rod, carefully bent to shape then made up with heat-shrink and plastic tube.......
IMG_6097.JPG
After fitting the plastic tube the brazing rod can be bent at right angles to be fitted either through, or under, the wagon ends....
IMG_6098.JPG
The separate pieces are bonded together with super glue before painting.
This is my output for this afternoon.....
IMG_6099.JPG
Painting tomorrow and fitting as soon as they dry.
The best things in life are free.... so why am I doing this?

User avatar
tom_tom_go
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 4266
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:08 am
Location: Kent, UK
Contact:

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by tom_tom_go » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:56 pm

Nice work Peter!

That design is a much cheaper way of fitting out stock with vacuum hoses than buying white metal offerings...

User avatar
ge_rik
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2738
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by ge_rik » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:20 am

Great solution. I like the inspirational use of the brazing rod.

I'm currently reading my way through my Christmas present book - Peter Paye's latest about the Southwold Railway. Despite several rulings from the BOT, the Southwold doggedly never installed continuous braking on any of their stock. Neither did they have any brake vans and so always ran mixed trains with no brake van attached, despite at least one run away after a coupling failure .

At present, the PLR is similarly resisting installing continuous braking, but I might eventually have to succumb to BOT pressure.

Rik
------------------------
Peckforton Light Railway - Blog Facebook Youtube

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by FWLR » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:10 am

Impressive Peter. I like the way you have thought out and used the materials and like Tom says, it must be a lot cheaper to make your own and may I add, better looking........
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

🚂🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃🚃

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by Peter Butler » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:31 pm

First few fitted today and I'm pleased with them..... lots more to follow.....
IMG_6101.JPG
IMG_6102.JPG
IMG_6103.JPG
The best things in life are free.... so why am I doing this?

User avatar
philipy
Director
Director
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: South Northants
Contact:

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by philipy » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:34 pm

They look good, Peter.

User avatar
IrishPeter
Driver
Driver
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:24 am
Location: 'Boro, VA

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by IrishPeter » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:51 pm

Until the late 1980s the status of the vacuum brake on the Isle of Man Railway was 'fitted but not used.' This occurred because the Isle of Man is not part of the UK, and had only incorporated the pre-1873 legislation into the domestic regulations concerning rail transport. The Vacuum brake was fitted in the late-1920s after a fatal accident when a train left Union Mills without the guard and brakes man due to a shunting mix up, and ran into the buffers at Douglas. The IMR was found behind the times in several respects, one of which was the lack of any sort of telephone in Douglas signal box, which meant messages had to be relayed through the stationmaster's office, which did not work on this occasion. Official concern was also expressed about the lack of continuous automatic brake, so the railway volunteered to fit it. However, the ejectors were supplied with the wrong cones, used too much steam, and no-one on the railway had enough experience with suck brakes to work out what was wrong - or perhaps they did, but couldn't be arsed to follow up. The traffic department could not accept any further limits on loading, so the vax fell into disuse. The penalty for having function vacuum brakes is one carriage. The previous load limit of seven bogies (roughly 100 tons loaded) was dropped to six (85 tons) once the vacuum brakes were brought back into use.

They did, however, install phones in the 'Box.

Cheers,
Peter in Va
Traffic Pattern? What pattern? Spuds out; grain in, but cattle, sheep and passengers are a lot less predictable.

User avatar
Andrew
Driver
Driver
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:33 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by Andrew » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:06 pm

Very nice! Chunkier than mine, which I like. Looks like they'll be well able to withstand the odd knock too...

Cheers,

Andrew.

User avatar
IanC
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:15 am
Location: Nr. Warrington, Cheshire

Re: Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by IanC » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:49 am

Brilliant solution. I fit vacuum pipes to all my locomotives and passenger stock. Until the 1970s even British Rail ran unfitted wagons. They only had a hand brake. A small point for anyone making them, the hoses should be fastened to the stand when not connected up. If they aren't then no vacuum can be created and the brakes would be "on".
Ian

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests