Adventures with a Flashforge

A place where discussions are about 3D printing.
SimonWood
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Adventures with a Flashforge

Post by SimonWood » Mon Dec 14, 2020 9:08 pm

Ooh, look what’s come in the post…
IMG_8334.jpeg
IMG_8334.jpeg (75.7 KiB) Viewed 6137 times
So I’m a complete newbie to 3D printing (though I’ve done a little 3D modelling in the past to create images or animations) and I have little to contribute by way of expertise… though I’m certainly soaking some up in the other threads here.

But what I can do is offer a few observations from the perspective of a beginner on getting garden railway stuff out of the particular printer I’ve bought - a Flashforge Adventurer 3. Incidentally this is the same printer Trevor has… although not incidentally really, since the instant I decided to buy one was more or less the moment I saw it in his workshop along with the very fine models he has produced with it! But it also suits my needs rather well: it is considerably pricier than the cheapest printers you can get now but it requires very little configuring to get going - and since work-wise I’m in the fortunate position to be about to start something that will help me afford it, while leaving me with even less time to spare - it fits the bill for what I’m after right now!

Trevor's threads show what amazing things the machine can do in the hands of an accomplished modeller. But how easy is it to get started, in terms of just printing something? I was quite astonished: I got it out out of the box - plugged it in, load the supplied filament, and pressed a couple of buttons and within minutes it had started printing its built-in test print called “20mm cube”. You can probably guess what it looks like…
IMG_8337.jpeg
IMG_8337.jpeg (61.41 KiB) Viewed 6137 times