Choosing and Using a Resin printer

A place where discussions are about 3D printing.
philipy

Choosing and Using a Resin printer

Post by philipy » Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:27 am

Following a couple of queries on another thread, I thought a few bits of info from a complete novice might be of assistance in the future. I must acknowledge -steves- patience and assistance in my decision to get one of these machines in the first place.

There are a number of machines on the market and as with all technology they are evolving all the time. My choice was between the Elegoo Mars and the Anycubic Photon S. Reviews etc showed very little to choose between them, so in the end I went with the Photon S simply because that what Steve has and I thought that if I needed any help, that was a good place to start!

DSC_0003.JPG
DSC_0003.JPG (206.6 KiB) Viewed 15763 times
Trevor Thompson wrote: Sat Dec 05, 2020 10:25 pm
So I am intrigued by the details:

You mentioned that the print had to be post cured and then washed.

Does that need special equipment or can the curing be done in the printer after it has finished building?

Is the washing just ordinary water and a tap?

Ok, firstly please remember that I am still very much a novice with this machine and much of what I know is still book learning! :D

I found that there are quite a few accessories that are helpful to go with a resin printer, because of the way it works.
First thing to remember is that the resin is cured by UV light which means that even in the UK, sunlight is enough to slowly cure it.