Painting for External Plastic Buildings

A place for discussing garden railway scenery, such as buildings, trees, etc....
FBGR
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Post by FBGR » Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:03 pm

I have been a bit disappointed in the longevity of the paintwork on some of the external plastic buildings that I have build over the last few years.

Generally I have been using Humbrol Enamels, brush applied, but these have sometimes peeled off, and faded considerably, sometimes within a year or so.

Whereas I may have been occasionally a little lax in my surface preparation, the extent of the failures would suggest something more than this.

The 16mm Association Handbook suggests the use of acrylics for outside plastic, but the proprietor of my local model shop has suggested that they are unlikely to be much better than enamels. He also pointed out the reduced range of colours available.

I have very little experience with acrylics, and none in stock.

So my question to the Forum is – what is the best painting system for external plastic buildings?

I am just finished the construction of a ‘Factory Building’ and was looking forward to using my recently acquired skills at weathering to make something to be proud of.

JOhn

peterbunce
Cleaner
Cleaner

paint

Post by peterbunce » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:30 pm

Hi,

I use PVC solid foam sheet genrally 5mm thick, for my buildings; all are scratch built., so far I have about 30 not all large, for my village, which stays out all the time there are 20.

For painting, I use Masonry Paint, and then a coat of ultra tough varnish; it is supposedly matt, but that varies! However the weather will dull any shine.

The lighter colors can fade (using acrylic - replicating unpainted wood fades a lot), but most colours stay well.

[/img]
Yours, Peter Bunce

Narrow Minded
Driver
Driver

Post by Narrow Minded » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:39 pm

I use acrylics extensively - and I'd disagree with the colour availability issue.