Time to build a railway...but where?

A place for the discussion of garden railways and any garden style/scale portable and/or indoor layouts
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver

Time to build a railway...but where?

Post by Peter Butler » Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:26 pm

I have been building 16mm stock for over 35 years now, firstly for indoor exhibition layouts but more recently for outdoors.   I have never had a garden railway of my own and thought I never would.
However, with time on my hands and the opportunity to go for it I thought I should make a start.
BUT..... where to put it?
I live in Wales, and as everyone knows, Wales was Mother Natures practice site for the Himalayas!
My 'garden' lies on a fairly steady 30(ish) degree slope, is always wet underfoot and has water running through it.  There are trees and other natural obstacles everywhere.
But I have bought boxes of track and a few points to make a start and I am determined.  I will succeed.....
This is probably the wrong time of year to put shovel to earth but I should not use it as an excuse not to plan the line.   All I want is a circuit with storage sidings and an area to put some buildings and backscene to give a sense of scale and realism.   Not too much to ask, it's been done before.
Last edited by Peter Butler on Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Peter Butler
Driver
Driver

Post by Peter Butler » Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:38 pm

Items removed.
Last edited by Peter Butler on Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

hussra
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Post by hussra » Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:40 pm

Looks like a classic case for using the slope of the ground to have a raised area at the main station/sidings for ease of handling. Other than that, would it be a case for a dog-bone type line (or an end-to-end line with reversing loops at either end) running across the hillside?