First time scratchbuild project - Bagnall steam loco

A place for discussing battery-electric locomotives, whether they're diesel, steam or even electric outline
Tom85
Cleaner
Cleaner

First time scratchbuild project - Bagnall steam loco

Post by Tom85 » Tue May 12, 2020 11:37 pm

Hi folks, first of all thanks for this great resource. As a lockdown project, I have been putting together a PDF models 3D printed Fowler Peldon kit. It whetted my apetite to try something a bit more ambitious - building my own loco from scratch. I've never tried this before, but I was inspired to do so by Rik's Peckforton Light Railway blog, where he details in a pretty much step-by-step way, his process for scratchbuilding steam outline locos (if you are reading this, Rik, thanks very much!).

My loco will be based (loosely!) on the Bagnall 2-4-0 locos that ran on the Rye and Camber Tramway. My reasons for choosing these locos were:

- They look relatively easy to build
- They were very small, and most photos show them pulling only 1 or 2 coaches, meaning I could use a cheap budget chassis and it wouldn't matter if it cannot pull much.
- I just love the way they look - idisoyncratic and almost like a toy engine.

Mine isn't based on either of the Rye and Camber locos in particular. The idea is to make something that Bagnall might have made around the same time, but to 2ft gauge (Rye and Camber was a 3ft gauge line).