twin electric motor drive

A place for discussing battery-electric locomotives, whether they're diesel, steam or even electric outline
oldchadders
Cleaner
Cleaner

twin electric motor drive

Post by oldchadders » Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:23 pm

I am spending a bit of time playing around with a "big big train" indoor layout for my grandson. I am thinking of converting one of the bigger (Hymek) locos to a twin drive system, by having two powered bogies (no mechanical connection between them). I intend to control these with a basic radio control system employing an ESC, with the thought that at some time in the future the grandson will want to run it on our garden railway and will need a bit more power to pul four coaches up the hills!.
As a retired electronics engineer, I envisage some "load sharing" problems if both motors are fed from the same ESC. My first thought is to put a low value resistor in series with each motor. Has anyone any experience of such a system?
Any thoughts would be welcome,
Peter

GTB
Driver
Driver

Re: twin electric motor drive

Post by GTB » Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:24 am

oldchadders wrote: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:23 pm As a retired electronics engineer, I envisage some "load sharing" problems if both motors are fed from the same ESC.
Model motors are permag motors, so don't go into thermal runaway when run in parallel like semiconductors and don't need balancing resistors. They have an upper speed limit set by the magnet field strength, so also won't destroy themselves if run unloaded, like a series wound motor will.