16mm scale "Linda"

Discussion of Live Steam locomotives should be located here
Trevor Thompson
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

16mm scale "Linda"

Post by Trevor Thompson » Mon Nov 02, 2020 9:22 pm

I have been building this for about 18 months.

It is based on drawings which Keith Bucklitch kindly placed on the steam model builders group files. While the original design was for slip eccentric he also provided a drawing for Stephenson valve gear - and that was why I built it. I couldn't get the valve gear to work as drawn - but I have now got it working after making some modifications.:
IMG_0053.jpg
IMG_0053.jpg (254.65 KiB) Viewed 8712 times
IMG_0996.jpg
IMG_0996.jpg (332.77 KiB) Viewed 8712 times
The red and green lights are the electronic water gauge which so far seems far superior to the usual glass water gauge.

and finally a link to video of its first test run in the workshop:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kzn4y7leac3bj ... 9.m4v?dl=0

It isn't finished but getting it to run feels like a major milestone!

Trevor

steamgeorge
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Re: 16mm scale "Linda"

Post by steamgeorge » Tue Nov 03, 2020 10:37 am

Very impressive :thumbright:

bambuko
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Post by bambuko » Tue Nov 03, 2020 2:19 pm

Excellent Trevor :thumbright:
Wanted to have a look at the drawings, but the only one listed in "steammodelloco 16mm" group is "Charles"- Penrhyn Quarry ' main line' loco Charles.
Looks very much like your loco... (apart from the lack of tender and no drawing of alternative Stephenson valve gear).
What changes did you have to make to valve gear, to make it work?
Would you mind sharing some more details, please?
Electronic water gauge seems good idea, but I hope it will not be constantly flickering like it did in your movie :mrgreen:

Trevor Thompson
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Post by Trevor Thompson » Wed Nov 04, 2020 8:38 pm