C,
No votes

Total votes: 1

FWLR
Driver
Driver

Checker Plate

Post by FWLR » Sat Jun 19, 2021 2:51 pm

I would like some advice from the very knowledgable members please. Which of these checker plates would be the best for the project I am doing, I think most of you will have guessed what it is I think :roll:

I have had to do A and B because of the Vacuum Pipe that is on the loco.
Sorry for the quality of photo A, it has decided to merge with the background. :roll: :roll:
It is about 20mm x 13mm cut out of the full plate and both A & B are longer by 6mm at 41mm long.

Anyway which would do you think is right.

A.

B.

C.

This will show you which ones they are.

From left to right. A B C

ge_rik
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Checker Plate

Post by ge_rik » Sat Jun 19, 2021 4:10 pm

I'm no expert on the loco in question, but B looks the best to me.

Rik
------------------------
Peckforton Light Railway - Blog Facebook Youtube

Andrew

Post by Andrew » Sat Jun 19, 2021 10:39 pm

Is that for a tender for your loco Rod?

If it is, I reckon you've got an Option D - put the vac pipe on the back of the tender instead, and have a full-width fall plate between loco and tender... That's what I'd do, I think...

Andrew.

FWLR
Driver
Driver

Post by FWLR » Mon Jun 21, 2021 8:50 am

Thank you Andrew for you reply. I don't have the confidence to take the pipe off and reposition it, but I will have a go. Are they easy enough to do, maybe I could move it on the loco, would that be acceptable. Not knowing were things should be on locos is a big problem for me.

You will have to wait and see mate...... :roll:

Peter Butler
Driver
Driver

Post by Peter Butler » Mon Jun 21, 2021 10:20 am

Rod, the pipe is a whitemetal casting and attached with superglue at the top and bottom ....
IMG_2315.JPG
IMG_2315.JPG (606.23 KiB) Viewed 4131 times
If you slide a sharp blade between the buffer beam and the casting it will easily separate.