Gauge Widening

Do you have a problem? Here is the place to appeal for help
WeymouthJohn
New User
New User

Gauge Widening

Post by WeymouthJohn » Sun Mar 07, 2021 4:28 pm

I'm very new to garden rail and I've built my baseboard layout on 3 foot posts. I'm now laying the first of my track which is 32mm track coming from Cliff Barker. In amongst the bits and pieces which came with the track are a few spare sleepers in a packet marked "for use in gauge widening". My radii are about a metre and my locos are are a Millie and a Fowler. I understand the engineering necessity of gauge widening for tight curves and the reasons for it but should I worry about it and if so, how would I use these odd sleepers?
Thanks very much for any help .... it'll give me a better nights sleep!
John

Phil.P
Fireman
Fireman

Re: Gauge Widening

Post by Phil.P » Sun Mar 07, 2021 4:42 pm

You could always ask Cliff?

-steves-
Administrator
Administrator

Post by -steves- » Sun Mar 07, 2021 4:46 pm

Welcome to the forum :D

I have no idea about your question, but good idea using 3 foot high posts, exactly what I did so I didn't have to bend down :thumbup:
The buck stops here .......

Ditton Meadow Light Railway (DMLR)
Member of Peterborough and District Association
http://peterborough.16mm.org.uk/

philipy

Post by philipy » Sun Mar 07, 2021 5:24 pm

Welcome to the forum.

I have no idea about Cliff Barkers stuff either, I'm afraid. As Phil said, you could ask Cliff, or failing that SVLR Andrew has built his railway with Cliff's stuff and he'll know your answer if anyone on here does.
Philip

Andrew

Post by Andrew » Sun Mar 07, 2021 6:06 pm

Hi John, and welcome!

I'm afraid I don't know about that type of track, but lots of folk have tighter curves than that without widening (I'm thinking of Peco and Mamod 2'6" settrack), so I think you'll be OK with those powerful RH locos, as long as you don't have too steep a gradient at that point and don't want to run very long trains.