Cleaner

Which is the best track to use please I am a newbie

Post by nigel273 » Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:29 pm

I am a newbie and wondering which track to use please

philipy

Re: Which is the best track to use please I am a newbie

Post by philipy » Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:35 am

Hi Nigel and welcome to the forum.

Not sure if you are asking which track manufacturer to use or whether to go 32mm or 45mm gauge ( or perhaps both)?

In terms of manufacturer, for a complete novice I would suggest Peco. They do range of settrack items which are quick and easy to put together although more difficult to keep flat and level. They also do 900mm lengths of flexible track which require many fewer joins but do need care with the bending.

For gauge it is a much more personal choice and may to varying degrees depend on whether you want to model a particular prototype or whether you incline towards Uk/european/ US/ Aussie railways.

Please give us some insight as to what you are thinking and we'll be happy to advise further.
Philip

nigel273
Cleaner
Cleaner

Post by nigel273 » Sun Jan 03, 2021 9:33 am

Many thanks for your help

ge_rik
Administrator
Administrator

Post by ge_rik » Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:06 am

Hi Nigel
Welcome to the forum. That's a good question to start off with. Sounds like you're serious about getting started
As Philip says, it really depends on which gauge you are planning to use.

45mm is generally used either to represent standard gauge or metre or three foot narrow gauge.
32mm is generally used for two foot narrow gauge or can be used for standard gauge if you want to use 0 scale (7mm : 1ft).

Are you planning to use live steam or electric power (or a bit of both)?

Rik
------------------------
Peckforton Light Railway - Blog Facebook Youtube

Jimmyb
Fireman
Fireman

Post by Jimmyb » Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:37 am