Trestle bridge help

Do you have a problem? Here is the place to appeal for help
GAP
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Trestle bridge help

Post by GAP » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:36 am

I am asking for some advice on which users prefer for the edge of my trestle bridge.
Attached are 2 pictures showing the trestle 1 with an edge and 1 without an edge.
I am really looking for opinions to help make a decision so feel free to post an opinion.
The edge is nothing more that aesthetics so asking which one is preferred keeping in mind that this is a narrow gauge line.
P1050551.JPG
P1050551.JPG (117.48 KiB) Viewed 5956 times
P1050550.JPG
P1050550.JPG (135.63 KiB) Viewed 5956 times
Graeme
From the home of the Ringbalin Light Railway
https://ringbalin-light-railway.blogspo ... -page.html

ge_rik
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Trestle bridge help

Post by ge_rik » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:44 am

I'm no expert, but I think the one without edging looks more realistic. My proviso would be that if you were intending to install railings, then the edging strips would be appropriate.

Rik
------------------------
Peckforton Light Railway - Blog Facebook Youtube

gregh
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Post by gregh » Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:03 am

ge_rik wrote: Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:44 am I'm no expert, but I think the one without edging looks more realistic. My proviso would be that if you were intending to install railings, then the edging strips would be appropriate.
Rik
Wot Rik said!
Greg from downunder.
The Sandstone & Termite's website: https://members.optusnet.com.au/satr/satr.htm

LNR
Driver
Driver

Post by LNR » Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:11 am

In Australia or Victoria at least, track on trestles was generally ballasted and needed edge kerbs to keep ballast in place.
Grant.

GTB
Driver
Driver

Post by GTB » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:00 am

I'm with Grant. As a Victorian, a trestle without a deck looks unnatural........