Introducing the "Bumblebee Light Railway"

What is your latest project?
PeterB
Cleaner
Cleaner

Introducing the "Bumblebee Light Railway"

Post by PeterB » Sat Aug 21, 2021 5:18 pm

Hello, my name is Peter, I am a retired teacher (having taught Physics and IT) in secondary education and live in the Rhineland-Palatinate, sw Germany. Due to a major redesign of our garden I suddenly got the necessary space to do what I have dreamed of for decades: Setting up a garden railway. Taking out two big trees last fall gave me the space to build a circle line round the garden shed this spring. So I went for it.

First steps included building a dry wall and perform terraforming to cope with the slightly slopy terrain. About 2 tons of material had to be brought in to have the ground for the station and the rear part of the track.
pic2.png
pic2.png (2.74 MiB) Viewed 8022 times
pic1.png
pic1.png (2.71 MiB) Viewed 8022 times
Since 2 tons of material were not really enough to build the station right on ground level, I had to "level up" track by building a wooden structure to place the tracks on. To camouflage this I planted different kinds of perennial herb around it and so improved optical impression (hopefully) a little bit.

These plants, by the way, are also the reason why the railroad line is prefixed "Bumblebee": Hundreds of these insects populate the inner section of the railway during summer having breakfast, lunch and dinner.

A removable bridge is also there to be taken out if I want to bring the lawn mower or garden shredder to the lower end of the garden. Also a railroad crossing near the rear fence of the garden.
pic6.png
pic6.png (2.32 MiB) Viewed 8022 times
Track

The line is in 32mm gauge, 16mm per inch scale, so it represents a 600mm (something) narrow gauge line.