More on 3D Printing for a complete beginner

A place where discussions are about 3D printing.
philipy

More on 3D Printing for a complete beginner

Post by philipy » Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:42 pm

Following on from James thread:
https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=11199

I decided to bite the bullet and follow suit.
As I said before, its something I've been thinking about for several years, on and off, but wasn't quite sure if I could master the techniques well enough to justify the cost of the machine. Seeing what James had produced, coupled with the fact that costs have been falling and the coincidence that I unexpectedly came into some cash recently, I gave in to myself!

I've spent the last couple of weeks playing at drawing things up, to be reasonably comfortable that I would be able to print my own stuff not just library drawings. James uses the Microsoft 3D Builder app but personally I find SketchUp easier, but each to his own.

Friday teatime I ordered a QidiTech printer from Amazon. It arrived just before lunch on Saturday. Took me most of the afternoon to get it up and running, due to a problem which turned out to be a clogged filament feeder, due to a small piece of filament presumably left from the factory test run. Saturday evening did a couple of test prints of small solid blocks, as recommended by the manufacturers. Then this morning decided to go for it! One of the drawings I did was for a station platform seat, no particular prototype, just a fairly typical cast iron support, wooden slat bench. The easiest way to print is flat on the print bed, but I wanted the typical raised edge ribs on the cast iron, on both sides, so I designed it as a kit consisting of two pairs of mirror images for the legs and two sets of slats. I only had to draw it once and then duplicated and mirror imaged, thus ensuring that both faces of both legs should be identical.

This is the drawing:
Screenshot 2017-06-25 17.19.39.png