Jobs you'd rather avoid

Anything related to the garden railway world that is not catered for in another board
Dr. Bond of the DVLR
Retired Director
Retired Director

Jobs you'd rather avoid

Post by Dr. Bond of the DVLR » Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:14 pm

Ok, I've just finished scribing bricks onto my station building - a job I have been putting off for far too many years! What garden railway jobs do you really hate having to do?
The railway which people forgot
(to build)

laalratty
Retired Director
Retired Director

Post by laalratty » Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:19 pm

Anything mindless and repetitive, that seem like you've not got any closer to finishing after an hour of work. So scribing brickwork.... For some reason though, scribing planking on coaches I seem to manage fine. I also tend to dislike doing buildings in general, they never seem to give me any pleasure, and as a result get left unbuilt or part built for months at a time.
"What the hell is that?"
"It's a model icebreaker sir."
"It's a bit big isn't it?"
"It's a full scale model sir....."

philipy

Post by philipy » Sun Aug 17, 2014 6:28 am

Ballasting is at the top of my 'groan' list. On the other hand, I love doing Buildings of all sorts, can't get enough of 'em.
Philip

Peter Butler
Driver
Driver

Post by Peter Butler » Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:44 am

Weeding!!!!!!!
Mainly because I don't know which are the good guys and which are not. I have to leave the identification to my wife as she has the green fingers.

steamie1
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Post by steamie1 » Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:50 am

My garden is on a slope and I hate laying concrete blocks. I built a railway in a play ground and mixed it all by hand again more blocks. To extend my line now I'll have to mix more cement and more blocks. I'm a weedy build and I can't face doing it.......
When we dig deep and do what we need to, we are proud and satisfied, when we shrug it off and procrastinate, we are less, deep inside somehow.

SO, I will do it...One day.