Starting my "garden" railway

Anything related to the garden railway world that is not catered for in another board
chris_lucas
Cleaner
Cleaner

Starting my "garden" railway

Post by chris_lucas » Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:42 pm

Hi everyone :D , I'm just getting into garden railways but there's one problem, my mom doesn't like gardening and she probably won't appreciate a railway in her garden :P.
So here's my solution, build a field railway 8) , So I can lay down track how I want and remove it when I'm done steaming :P .
I bought a Mamod SL1 of eBay and a lot of antique 0 gauge track and they will probably arrive next week.
Here's a pic that pretty much explains what a field railway is.

LNR
Driver
Driver

Post by LNR » Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:52 pm

Good that your making a start Chris, things can always develop later on.
Grant.

chris_lucas
Cleaner
Cleaner

Post by chris_lucas » Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:01 pm

LNR:120975 wrote:Good that your making a start Chris, things can always develop later on.
Grant.
Yup, and with prices of old tracks being really low I can always expand it. :D
Is there a place where I can get 0 gauge wagons that aren't too expensive. ;)

tom_tom_go
Driver
Driver

Post by tom_tom_go » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:55 am

Hi Chris,

If you want to play around with track plans check out www.anyrail.com

You can download a free version that is limited to 50 pieces of track but should be enough for you to have a play around with ideas.

chris_lucas
Cleaner
Cleaner

Post by chris_lucas » Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:09 pm

Piotr Bein:120981 wrote:Chris: how do you pick up the last piece of track? :)

Inexpensive rolling stock: https://piotrbein.wordpress.com/2016/11 ... materials/

If you think mom is an obstacle to your empire, wait till you are married LOL