Live steam...Maybe one day !

A very popular starting point for Live Steam. With their low cost comes a number of problems which can be discussed here
Bandit
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Live steam...Maybe one day !

Post by Bandit » Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:42 pm

Hello!
I'm an absolute beginner in steam locos.
I hope to make a good start in steam with a Mamod MkII 1 G (I built my layout with the Piko 45mm track). This steam loco seems very easy to use and I don't have a lot of money to spend.
So do you have any advices before I'll do (or not) the biggest error of my life? :lol:
Thanks for your help!
Last edited by Bandit on Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Bandit
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Post by Bandit » Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:45 pm

I also read this topic:

http://gardenrails.myfreeforum.org/abou ... highlight=

It's very helpful!

mikewakefielduk@btinterne
Fireman
Fireman

Post by mikewakefielduk@btinterne » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:47 pm

A lot will depend on your circuit. Is it flat with gentle curves or with tight curves, numerous points, changes in direction, etc? The Mamods are a pleasing loco to use and, as you will have realised from this sub-group, not too expensive to buy and pretty simple to adapt. However they do have a bit of a reputation for not being the easiest to run slowly so need careful control of the gas flow and steam regulator adjustment.  I haven't experienced this as my circuit has both tight curves and a gradient so I fitted radio control out of necessity otherwise a single regulator adjustment meant it either ran away on the downhill or couldn't climb the uphill.

If you don't have radio control and your circuit is flat with gentle curves, you may find the loco's speed is quite hard to control unless you give it a reasonable load to pull (which it will as its quite powerful).

Mike
Last edited by mikewakefielduk@btinterne on Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dannypenguin
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver