Bogies

Do you have a problem? Here is the place to appeal for help
User avatar
MRail
Cleaner
Cleaner
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: Merseyside, UK
Contact:

Re: Bogies

Post by MRail » Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:24 pm

Sorry Rod,

My theory is to leave the front bogie as is.
Replace the rear, fixed, single axle drive with a swivelling 4w motor bogie.

This ought to make it comfortable on curves, like a bogie coach, (or Fairlie loco).
It is a bit radical, but I can't see a better way to do it.
Rob G
Madog & Mersey Railway (SM32)
In my Father's roundhouse are many loco sheds.

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:58 pm

I see now Rob. Thanks. :thumbright: :thumbright:

I will have a look at doing something with the back fixed drive.
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Bogies

Post by Peter Butler » Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:32 pm

I have been searching for a Lima motor bogie myself and found nothing available, so I thought laterally (as I usually do) and came up with an alternative. I must admit this is experimental and not the easiest of conversions to make, but it looks OK and should be up to the job...... what is it.....
IMG_6526.JPG
A LEGO power bogie.... 9v and built to be child-resistant.... if that is possible?

After some surgery I have managed to reduce the width, replace the wheels and re-build the casing.....
IMG_6527.JPG
IMG_6528.JPG
These do come up for sale and are considerably cheaper than the Lima ones.

Not to every-ones liking, but I'm sure I can make use of it.
The best things in life are free.... so why am I doing this?

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:40 pm

Wow Peter, that's fantastic...... :thumbright: :thumbright:

It also looks like a Lego bogie with those dimples on it. Looks like I will need to be looking for one just like yours then.... :thumbright:.

Opppps, my flipping eyesight is going to..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thats what you get for not fully reading posts..... :lol: :lol: :lol:
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Sat Jul 20, 2019 2:54 pm

Just had look on Ebay Peter, would this be similar to the one you bought and could it be used on the railcar....

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lego-Power-F ... SwONlc~Blp
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Bogies

Post by Peter Butler » Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:30 pm

I'm not certain that it is the same Rod, you might need to contact the seller or check with the LEGO website about part number etc.
Also, if you read my description I said it is not an easy conversion and needs to be stripped down, re-wheeled and re-built to fit the narrower track of 32mm gauge. I haven't yet fitted it to a loco either so unsure how it will perform.... I did say it was experimental!
The best things in life are free.... so why am I doing this?

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:31 pm

Now after Mrail (Rob) gave me two powered bogies that he made some years ago. I have been able to fit one to the Railcar. It now runs :wav:

Although it does run a tad bit fast. I have put 4 cell AA battery box in, but it's easy enough to change to a 3 or 2 cell for a more easy run ( And so I don't have to chase it to stop it)... :lol: :lol: :lol:


This is one of the bogies that Rob gave me..

DSCN4151.JPG
And this is it running. Sorry about the wind noise, not a lot can be done when it's blowing a gale...

Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:33 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Bogies

Post by Peter Butler » Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:22 pm

Well done Rod, that has certainly cured the problem but it is much too fast as you said. A speed controller (I.P Engineering do one) would do the job without altering the batteries.
The best things in life are free.... so why am I doing this?

DonW
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:57 pm
Location: West Somerset

Re: Bogies

Post by DonW » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:39 pm

You could try one of these no idea how good they are but I would give it a go for the price
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mini-DC-3V-3 ... 3100313242
you probably need a separate reversing switch.
Alternatively Rik's aruino/nRF24Lo1 controller could do the job with a receiver/aruino+motorshield in the railcar
Don

User avatar
MRail
Cleaner
Cleaner
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:16 pm
Location: Merseyside, UK
Contact:

Re: Bogies

Post by MRail » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:26 am

I've mentioned to Rod, that as I said when we met, the bogie is built around a Tamiya car motor.
This is rated at 3V, and ought to be powered by two 1.5V battery cells.
Possibly three NiMH at 1.2 V would be OK.
Rob G
Madog & Mersey Railway (SM32)
In my Father's roundhouse are many loco sheds.

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:44 am

Peter Butler wrote: ↑
Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:22 pm
Well done Rod, that has certainly cured the problem but it is much too fast as you said. A speed controller (I.P Engineering do one) would do the job without altering the batteries.
I have found out from Rob, that it's Tamiya 3v motor..... :roll: ..So it's no wonder it's running fast Peter. It's a flipping good job I didn't connect the battery pack that was in it originally....It has 8 cells in....Told you I am not very electrically minded..... :scratch:

I would have been completing with Usain Bolt trying to catch up with it..:lol: :lol: :lol:
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:52 am

MRail wrote: ↑
Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:26 am
I've mentioned to Rod, that as I said when we met, the bogie is built around a Tamiya car motor.
This is rated at 3V, and ought to be powered by two 1.5V battery cells.
Possibly three NiMH at 1.2 V would be OK.
Our posts have just crossed Rob.

I will put a 3 cell in. I tried a 2 cell just before the rain came this morning and it was struggling a bit. I think it may be the weight of the Railcar possibly...

How would the speed controller work. Does it keep the torque in the motor the same or will it just slow it down..... :?:
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:54 am

DonW wrote: ↑
Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:39 pm
You could try one of these no idea how good they are but I would give it a go for the price
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mini-DC-3V-3 ... 3100313242
you probably need a separate reversing switch.
Alternatively Rik's aruino/nRF24Lo1 controller could do the job with a receiver/aruino+motorshield in the railcar
Don
Hi Don,

It has a reversing switch already. So it would just be a case of connecting it to the motor wiring wouldn't it. But if I put 3 cells in would I still need a speed controller....
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

DonW
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:57 pm
Location: West Somerset

Re: Bogies

Post by DonW » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:27 am

Hi Rod

the device is a speed controller it works by Pulse Width Modulation. Whatever battery you are using it will apply to the motor but by switching the power on and off (at about 10kHz) the motor acts as though it only receives part of the voltage. That means at 50% on 50% off it will act as though half the battery voltage was applied., at 75% on 25% off it will act as though three quarters was applied.
As I say I haven't tried it but at the price I would give it a go. I assume you have either a centre off reversing switch or a separate on off switch already.
One issue is whether the controller pulses cause a whine in the motor but that may not be a problem running outdoors even if it does cause a slight whine.

Don

User avatar
FWLR
Driver
Driver
Posts: 2399
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 9:45 am
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK

Re: Bogies

Post by FWLR » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:29 am

Thanks Don for the info. I may well give it a go, not much to lose really..... :thumbright: :thumbright:
Rod

Life is so easy when I run my trains. :thumbright:

πŸš‚πŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒπŸšƒ

https://gardenrails.org/forum/viewtopic ... 41&t=11364

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests