An engine shed for the Buddacre light railway

What is your latest project?
Joe
Fireman
Fireman

An engine shed for the Buddacre light railway

Post by Joe » Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:52 pm

Hi, after recieving some 3mm foam board i decided to give it ago and have ago at building a station building, after i had cut the two sides i started to think its the right height for an engine shed so after adding a roof it is resembling the basic outline of an engine shed rather than a station building, but oh well, the station building can wait!

any tips for:
how to make a slate roof
how to make the shed doors
and how to cut out the windows

would be much appreciated as this is my first time using foam board
cheers
Joe

by the way it is wide enough for an engine to fit in (at least a mamod with a few centimeters either side anyway)
Steam is highly under rated

Peter Butler
Driver
Driver

Post by Peter Butler » Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:52 pm

Hi Joe, this foam-board looks to be the same as the one I use too. It isn't suitable to be left outdoors so you have a wide choice of materials to choose from to enhance the detailing.
Firstly I would recommend the use of parcel tape (brown paper tape with water soluble adhesive) to stick all of your join lines together while the glue (PVA) sets. This makes the whole thing stronger and keeps it in place when constructing the building. As for windows..... use a sharp knife against a steel rule before sticking the structure together. You can get a much neater cut and finish if it is flat on the workbench.
The window frames can be made of wood or plasticard with a small rebate to push into the hole and hide the cut edges at the same time. Glazing can be cut from clear sheet and stuck to the inside after painting.
Doors can be made of either wood strips or plasticard scribed into planks. Both should have bracing on the inside which will show when the doors are open.