Engineering Apprenticeship Project

What is your latest project?
JMORG
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Engineering Apprenticeship Project

Post by JMORG » Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:53 pm

Hi all,
As I am now an Apprentice for Renishaw, I need to start thinking about a project once I have finished my milling and turning assessments (which wont take long)!
After much thought, I have decided to scratch-build a model of "Moel Tryfan". I chose this for several reasons:
1) It has a separate power-bogie, so I can easily set-out the work in several stages.
2) I have a Bernard Rockett book with drawings for this locomotive I can reference.
3) I like it!
I will be using Roundhouse style slip-eccentric (obviously, being an 0-6-4 it would need to be longer) for this locomotive along with a Roundhouse style boiler.
Any hints and tips would be really appreciated! Also, does anybody agree that Moel Tryfan would be a good choice to work with? :)
Thanks everyone :D

kandnwlr
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Re: Engineering Apprenticeship Project

Post by kandnwlr » Tue Sep 09, 2014 7:32 pm

JMORG:104043 wrote:Hi all,
As I am now an Apprentice for Renishaw, I need to start thinking about a project once I have finished my milling and turning assessments (which wont take long)!
After much thought, I have decided to scratch-build a model of "Moel Tryfan". I chose this for several reasons:
1) It has a separate power-bogie, so I can easily set-out the work in several stages.
2) I have a Bernard Rockett book with drawings for this locomotive I can reference.
3) I like it!
I will be using Roundhouse style slip-eccentric (obviously, being an 0-6-4 it would need to be longer) for this locomotive along with a Roundhouse style boiler.
Any hints and tips would be really appreciated! Also, does anybody agree that Moel Tryfan would be a good choice to work with? :)
Thanks everyone :D
Congratulations on the apprenticeship!