HGLW powered chassis steam outline loco

What is your latest project?
pskipper
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

HGLW powered chassis steam outline loco

Post by pskipper » Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:35 pm

As mentioned in the Help Me section I'm building a steam outline loco on an HGLW 4wd powered chassis. The loco is a freelance based loosely on a fowler loco which worked on one of the Australian sugar cane tramways.

I didn't want to have to think about making a pony truck as I'm fairly new to scratch building so my drawings changed the loco to look like this...

The axles for the chassis had to be extended to 66mm to let the loco be outside frame rather than putting tram sides on it (my initial idea following Si's example). The loctite holding the wheels on breaks with a little torque (applied using a vice and some molegrips with the wheels wrapped in fabric to protect them) so it was relatively easy to change the axles for longer ones, although if I do this sort of loco again I'm just going to ask David at HGLW to make me a kit with a custom axle length as he is happy to do that.

This is how far I've got so far. The cranks and coupling rods are a little chunky but as I said I'm fairly new to scratchbuilding so wanted to go for solid rather than fine details and mucking it up several times...

I'll keep updating as I make progress :)

MDLR
Driver
Driver

Post by MDLR » Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:51 pm

Looks like a nice chunky loco - I'll watch progress with interest. How are you going to get at the batteries? Complete lift-off body?
Brian L Dominic
Managing Director
Flagg Fluorspar Co
www.mdlr.co.uk/ff.html

pskipper
Trainee Fireman
Trainee Fireman

Post by pskipper » Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:47 am

I might have to go that way, I'm hoping I can get them to fit in one of the tanks but it might be a bit tight for getting them back out again.

Big Jim

Post by Big Jim » Sun Jun 08, 2014 11:58 am